Skip to content →


Vox “Future Perfect 50” List, 2022 (Illustration: Rebecca Clarke / Vox)

Leadership Programmes

Raisina Young Fellow

Observer Research Foundation (ORF) and ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius

New Delhi, 2022

Journalism Awards

Best Explanatory Reporting on Climate Change

Chinadialogue and China Association for NGO Cooperation (CANGO)

Beijing, 2021

Trailblazers: Best of the China Africa Reporting Project

University of the Witwatersrand

Johannesburg, 2014

Asian Environmental Journalism Award: Young Journalist of the Year (Merit)

Singapore Environment Council

Singapore, 2014

China Environmental Press Awards: Best Investigation

Chinadialogue and Renmin University

Beijing, 2014

China Environmental Press Awards: Young Journalist of the Year

Chinadialogue and the Guardian

Beijing, 2013

Journalist of the Year

Caixin Media

Beijing, 2013 & 2014

Best Cover Story of the Year

Caixin Media

Beijing, 2012, 2013 & 2014

Nanfang Media Award: Annual Tribute – Best Investigation

Southern Weekly Media Research Institute

Guangzhou, 2011, 2013 & 2014

Nandu National Award for Outstanding Student Journalist: First Prize

Southern Metropolis Daily Media Research Institute

Guangzhou, 2011

Journalism Fellowships

Oxford Journalism Fellowship

Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism, Oxford University

Oxford, 2023

Cross-border Reporting Fellowship on Transnational Environmental Crime

Brussels, 2018

Global Investigative Journalist Fellowship

Global Investigative Journalism Network (GIJN)

Johannesburg, 2017

UNFCCC COP20 Climate Change Media Partnership Fellowship

Internews Earth Journalism Network

Lima, 2014

AAAS-EurekAlert! International Science Journalist Fellowship

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Chicago, 2014

Oxpeckers Fellowship for Chinese Environmental Investigative Journalists

University of the Witwatersrand

Johannesburg, 2013

Academic Scholarships

China Civil Society Leadership Scholarship

French Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs

Paris, 2017-2019

Global Undergraduate Exchange Program (Global UGRAD)

State Government of the United States

Washington DC, 2010

National Scholarship (Merit)

Chinese Ministry of Education

Beijing, 2008-2010